Product Photos

I have been battling with product photos for a while now and I am never happy with them! I am always drawn to clean lines and white background but felt just putting my work on a white background made them feel a bit lifeless. I wanted to create some simple photos that inject a bit of life and fun in to my colourful pieces while not distracting from the product.

I began by trying to play around with some props but really struggled to find something that worked. I spent hours scouring the internet for inspiration but most ideas I liked worked for pendants or small necklaces, my jewellery is quite bulky. I had some branches lying around the house so decided to look at painting them as a  starting point.

10333281_10150391628434943_6429168983091451616_o

I looked at painting branches one single colour as well as incorporating yarn by wrapping it around a white branch. I found this prop was just too distracting and just a bit weird. So I went back to the drawing board.

DSCN4626

As well as being drawn to texture I love the power of colour and how just using simple colour placement can really make a product stand out. I began to look at using card to create simple flashes of colour and to add some fun! I choose to use muted colours along with brights so show you can mix and match colours to create different looks. I really liked this idea but felt the spots were a little bit distracting especially when you have lots of images laid out on one page. So I continued to develop the idea in to something abit simpler.

dfdsfdsfsdfs

1

I really liked the clean and simple look of these photos and the use of colour to spot light the product. I wasn’t sure the use of two colours was too much so went on to look at just one flat colour.

1239696_10150399147179943_4208104441870294675_n

I thought the single colour worked better and really made the product pop so I combined the the spotlight idea and mounted it on a white background.

CN - Short - Turq Grey1

I really like the cut out look and feel it gives a clean and fresh look and makes the product really standout. I also like how they look displayed together on one page. The use of colour really makes them look fun and yummy

1

After finalising how to photograph my necklaces it was then time to do it with the rest of my products to create a cohesive look for my website.

I am happy with the look I have decided to go for and it has really given my website a facelift. I am sure in a a few weeks I will start to pick at them again like I do with everything I do! I would love to know what you think of them, do you think the idea works? Feel free to check out my website for my full range of work.

