Playing with Fair Isle

I decided I would start a blog to help show my followers my design process and inspiration. I have recently released a new range which has gone away from the textural pieces I have done in the past and instead I am looking at clean lines, pattern and colours. I am still however very focused on the functionality of products. I like to design items that are stylish and functional.

My interest in pattern began when I started to experiment with fair isle and very quickly found that once set up it is an easy way to add colour and pattern to fabrics.

DSCN7916

To design fair isle patterns I begin by working on a grid to create 24 stitch repeat patterns

1

2

These patterns are then transferred on to a 24 stitch punch card which is then  fed into the knitting machine for it to read.
5319126_orig
DSCN7928
After the punch card has been set up in the machine it will read the pattern as you move the hand powered carriage to create fabric like this
DSCN7283 3 2
Leave a Reply

